Azad Kashmir

Paradise on Earth.

Azad Kashmir

Azad Kashmir

located in Shounter valley, Neelum District, Azad Kashmir.

Azad Kashmir

Azad Jammu and Kashmir abbreviated as AJK and commonly known as Azad Kashmir, is a nominally self-governing polity administered by Pakistan. It is part of the greater Kashmir region, which is the subject of a long-running conflict between Pakistan and India. The territory was previously part of the former princely state of Jammu and Kashmir, which ceased to exist as a result of the first Kashmir war fought between Pakistan and India in 1947.

The territory borders Punjab province to the south and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province to the west, Gilgit-Baltistan to the North and Indian-administered state of Jammu and Kashmir to the East.

Azad Kashmir is separated from the Indian-administered state of Jammu and Kashmir by the Line of Control, the de facto border between India and Pakistan.

Azad Kashmir is a self-governing state under Pakistan, lies in the North East of Pakistan and comprises an area of 13,297 km2.

Fertile, green, mountainous valleys are characteristic of Azad Kashmirs geography, making it one of the most beautiful regions on the subcontinent.

Neelum Valley Kashmir Pakistan

Neelum Valley Kashmir Pakistan

Kashmir is paradise on earth, the land is an abundance of natural beauty, high mountains, lush green valleys, lakes, rivers, ancient forts,temples and many more worth seeing places.


  • The area is mainly hilly and mountainous with valleys and stretches of plains. It is full of natural beauty with thick forest, fast flowing rivers and winding streams. Main rivers are Jehlum, Neelum and Poonch.

  • The northern part of Azad Jammu and Kashmir encompasses the lower part of the Himalayas, including Jamgarh Peak (15,531 feet). However, Sarwali peak in the Neelum Valley is the highest peak in the state.

  • Fertile, green, mountainous valleys are characteristic of Azad Kashmirs geography, making it one of the most beautiful regions on the subcontinent.

  • The elevation ranges from 360 meters in the south to 6325 meters in the North.


  • The climate of the area is sub-tropical highland type with an average yearly rainfall of over 1400 mm.

  • The southern parts of Azad Kashmir including Bhimber, Mirpur and Kotli districts has extremely hot weather in summers and moderate cold weather in winters. It receives rains mostly in monsoon weather.

  • In the central and northern parts of state weather remains moderate hot in summers and very cold and chilly in winter. Snow fall also occurs there in December and January.

  • During summer, monsoon floods of the Jhelum and Leepa rivers are common, due to high rainfall and melting snow.

Administrative Set Up

  • Azad Kashmir has its own elected President, Prime Minister, Legislative Assembly and High Court.

  • Azad Kashmir is divided into three divisions (Muzaffarabad, Mirpur & Poonch) and ten administrative districts with Muzaffarabad as the capital of the state.

  • The Muzaffarabad Division comprises of Muzaffarabad and Neelum, Rawalakot Division comprises of Bagh, Poonch & Sudhnuti districts whereas districts of Mirpur Division are Mirpur, Kotli & Bhimber.

  • These ten districts are further divided into 32 subdivisions.

  • AJK Legislative Assembly comprising 41 directly and 8 indirectly elected members and the AJK Council with six elected members.


  • The culture of Azad Kashmir has many similarities to that of northern Punjabi (Potohar) culture in Punjab province.

  • The natives of Azad Kashmir speak Urdu, Potwari and Pahari, while the Kashmiri language is spoken by hardly 5% of Azad Kashmirs population.

  • The traditional dress of the women is the shalwar kameez in Pahari style. The shalwar kameez is commonly worn by both men and women.

Kashmir Conflict

  • The Kashmir conflict is a territorial conflict between India, Pakistan, and to a limited degree, China, started just after the partition of India.

  • India and Pakistan have fought three wars over Kashmir, including the Indo-Pak Wars of 1947 and 1965, as well as the Kargil War.

  • On 1 January 1948, it was India which first took the Kashmir dispute to the United Nations. Under "United Nations Security Council Resolution 47" Pakistan seeks the implementation of that resolution which called for an independent plebiscite. Kashmiri Muslims were wronged by the states accession to India and that, given a choice, they will vote to join Pakistan.