Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Third largest province of Pakistan by Population and Smallest by area.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa is one of the four administrative provinces of Pakistan, located in the northwestern region of the country. It was previously known as the North-West Frontier Province (NWFP) until 2010.

KPK is bounded by Afghanistan to the west and north,Punjab province to the southeast, Gilgit Baltistan to the northeast and Balochistan province to the southwest. On the western boundary of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, along the Afghan border, are the federally administered tribal areas, a series of semi autonomous areas that are ethnically homogeneous with the province but not politically connected to it.

The provincial language is Pushto spoken by the Majority as first language. Urdu is the national language widely spoken as a second language. English is the official language of KP and mainly used for Official and literary purpose.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa formerly the North-West Frontier Province, is one of the four administrative provinces of Pakistan and runs for over 1,100 kilometres along the border with Afghanistan.

Peshawar is the Capital and largest city of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Chitral Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Chitral Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Its snow-capped peaks and lush green valleys of unusual beauty have enormous potential for tourism.


  • Khyber Pakhtunkhwa sits primarily on the Iranian plateau and comprises the junction where the slopes of the Hindu Kush mountains on the Eurasian plate give way to the Indus watered hills approaching South Asia.

  • Geographically the province could be divided into two zones: the northern one extending from the ranges of the Hindu Kush to the borders of Peshawar basin and the southern one extending from Peshawar to the Derajat basin.

  • The northern zone is cold and snowy in winters with heavy rainfall and pleasant summers with the exception of Peshawar basin, which is hot in summer and cold in winter. It has moderate rainfall.

  • The southern zone is arid with hot summers and relatively cold winters and scanty rainfall.

  • The highest peak in the range is the limestone Sheik Buddin Mountain, which is protected by the Sheikh Buddin National Park.

  • The major rivers that criss-cross the province are the Kabul, Swat, Chitral, Kunar, Siran, Panjkora, Bara, Kurram, Dor, Haroo, Gomal and Zhob.


  • The climate of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa varies immensely for a region of its size, encompassing most of the many climate types found in Pakistan.

  • Dera Ismail Khan is one of the hottest places in South Asia while in the mountains to the north the weather is mild in the summer and intensely cold in the winter.

  • The air is generally very dry; consequently, the daily and annual range of temperature is quite large.

  • Rainfall also varies widely. Although large parts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa are typically dry, the province also contains the wettest parts of Pakistan in its eastern fringe specially in monsoon season from mid June to mid September.


  • Most of the inhabitants of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa profess Islam, with a Sunni majority and significant minorities of Shias and Ismailis.

  • Many of the Kalasha of Southern Chitral still retain their ancient Animist/Shamanist religion.

  • There are very small communities of Hindus, Christians and Sikhs.


  • Khyber Pakhtunkhwa is divided into seven Divisions, Bannu, Dera Ismail Khan, Hazara, Kohat, Malakand, Mardan and Peshawar, each under an appointed Commissioner.

  • The Divisions are subdivided into twenty-nine districts.

  • The administration of the Provincially Administered Tribal Area districts is vested in the President of Pakistan and the Governor of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, by Articles 246 and 247 of the Constitution of Pakistan.

District Map Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

District Map Khyber Pakhtunkhwa